Skip to main content

Setting up PlanRadar

Manage Groups of a Project

Overview

Add groups to your projects, remove them, or change their role in the project.

Access & Permissions

How to access Groups

  1. Click Projects
  2. Select the project whose groups you want to manage
  3. Click Groups
  1. Tap Project details
    Access.png
  2. Tap Groups
    Access Groups.png

Add Group to Project

For groups to be added to projects, they must already be created in your account as explained in Create & Manage Groups.

When a group is assigned to a project, any group member who is not yet in the project is added automatically.

To add a group to a project:

  1. Click Add group

  2. Select the checkbox(es) of the group(s) you want to add to the project

  3. Click Next

  4. Select a role for the group(s). Also see Create & Manage Roles.

  5. Click Confirm if there are users in the group(s) that are already in the project.

  1. Tap the sign in the right top corner
    Add group.png
  2. Select the group you want to add to the project
    You can add only one group at a time. 
    Select a Group.png
  3. Tap Select role for group
    Select Role Tab.png
  4. Select a role for the group 
    Set a role.png
  5. Tap Add to project
    Add to Project.png
  6. Optional: Tap Confirm if there are users that are already in the project and that their roles will remain unchanged.

Change Group Role in Project

You can edit the role of a group in the project. To do so:

  1. Click the Role drop-down menu next to the group
  2. Select the new role
  1. Tap the group you want to edit
    Tap Group.png
  2. Tap the group role
    Edit Role.png
  3. Select a new role
    Select New Role.png

Remove Group from Project

To remove a group from a project:

  1. Open the More menu
  2. Click Remove
  3. Optional: Keep/clear the Remove users managed by the group from the project checkbox.
  4. Type 'Delete'
  5. Click Remove
  1. Tap Remove from Project
  2. Optional: Keep/clear the Remove users managed by the group from the project. checkbox
  3. Tap Remove to confirm

Users Managed by Group

All users that are added to a project by a group, are managed by that group. Users are not managed by that group, if they are already being managed by a different group within the same project, or if they are already individual project members.

In-house users who are managed by a group also inherit the group's role. You can still assign them a different role, but then they will no longer be managed by that group for that particular project.

The column Users managed by group shows how many of the total users of this group in this project are managed by this group.

Updated May 11, 2026