Skip to main content

Setting up PlanRadar

Manage Users of a Project

Overview

Before users can start working on a project they must first be added to the project. For in-house users, permissions in a project can be controlled in a flexible way by assigning customisable roles. Read more in Create & Manage Roles.

Access & Permissions

How to access Project Users

  1. Click Projects
  2. Select the project whose users you want to manage
  3. Click Users
    Add User Button.png
  1. Go to the project and tap Project Details
    Access Details.png
  2. Tap Users
    Access Users.png

Add Users to a Project

To add users to a project:

  1. Click Add user
    Add Users Button.png
  2. Select the checkbox of the user(s) you'd like to add to the project
  3. Click Next
    Select User.png
  4. If the user is an in-house user, select a user role
    Select Role.png

    When you add in-house users to a project you need to assign a role for the project. Subcontractors and watchers have built-in permissions and, therefore, cannot have roles. If you add in-house users and subcontractors or watchers at the same time, the selected role is only applied to the selected in-house users. Read more in Create & Manage Roles.
  5. Click Yes to confirm
    Confirm.png
  1. Tap the + sign in the top right corner
    Add User Sign.png
  2. Tap the user you want to add
    Select User to Add.png
  3. If the user is an in-house user, select a user role.
    Role Tab.png

    When you add in-house users to a project you need to assign a role for the project. Subcontractors and watchers have built-in permissions and, therefore, cannot have roles. If you add in-house users and subcontractors or watchers at the same time, the selected role is only applied to the in-house users. Read more in Create & Manage Roles.
  4. Select the user role in the project
    Select New User Role.png
  5. Tap Add to Project
    Add to Project.png

In the mobile app, you can also invite new users straight to the project.

To do so:

  1. Tap the + sign in the top right corner
    Add User Sign.png
  2. Tap Invite new user to project
    Invite New User.png
  3. Select the User Type
  4. Fill in the user details
    Fill in User Data.png
  5. Optional: Add a personal message to be added to the invitation email
  6. Optional: Activate the Save the invitation message toggle if you want to reuse the message for the next invitation.
  7. If the user is an in-house user, select a user role
    Invitation Message.png

    When you add in-house users to a project you need to assign a role for the project. Subcontractors and watchers have built-in permissions and, therefore, cannot have roles. If you add in-house users and subcontractors or watchers at the same time, the selected role is only applied to the in-house users. Read more in Create & Manage Roles.
  8. Select the user role in the project
    Select Role for.png
  9. Tap Add to Project
    Add to Project Button.png

Change Role of a User

To change the role of a user for the current project:

  1. Open the drop-down menu next to the user
  2. Select the new role you want to assign to the user
    Change Role.png
  1. Tap the user you want to change their role
    Select User.png
  2. Tap the role
    Access Role.png
  3. Select the new role
    Select Role.png

Make Project Available to User on Mobile Devices

To make the project available for the user in mobile apps:

  1. Select the mobile checkbox next to the user's name to make the project available. Uncheck to revoke mobile access for the user.
    Add Mobile.png

Remove Users from Projects

To remove a user from a project:

  1. Click the trash icon
    Trash Icon.png
  2. Click Remove to confirm
    Remove.png
  1. Tap the user you want to remove from the project
    Select User.png
  2. Tap Remove from project
    Remove User.png
  3. Tap Yes to confirm removing the user from the project
    Confirm User Removal.png

Users Managed by Group

All users that are added to a project by a group, are managed by that group. Users are not managed by that group, if they are already being managed by a different group within the same project, or if they are already individual project members.

In-house users who are managed by a group also inherit the group's role. You can still assign them a different role, but then they will no longer be managed by that group for that particular project.

The column Managed by group shows by which group users are managed or if they are not managed by a group.

Updated May 11, 2026